Flora Power

April 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm | Posted in miscellaneous, outdoors, Taiwan | Leave a comment
Tags:

Lots of people had been raving about the Taipei Flora Expo; how beautiful and amazing it was (and how crowded). I waited until it had been open a few months before I went, hoping to avoid the crowds (but that was impossible).

It’s big! We arrived in the afternoon, paid reduced entry and were content with seeing only about two thirds of the total area of the Expo (not including the ‘special’ areas that required hours of waiting in line!).

The best area was where other countries had created small gardens to showcase themselves. My favourite was ‘Chile Fantasia’.

Some were twee (like the replica historical monument in the Philippines’ garden). Some were trying to encourage economic links (USA’s garden included an exhibition on Idaho potatoes). And some were just trying to encourage tourists (Thailand had photo ops with a topiary elephant and Buddha).

To my surprise the most disappointing thing was the British garden. I walked past it twice not realising it was there! I didn’t take a picture because there was nothing interesting about it – only a dull fountain sculpture and lacklustre planting. I know the Taiwan Expo may not be top of the list for the RHS, but I expected a bit more from them.

Still, the rest of the Expo made up for the wound to my national pride. It was a nice place to spend a spring day, taking photos and marvelling at the blooms, foliage and designs.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.